jump to navigation

Professor’s Corner – Special Rulings: Terrakion EX’s (DRX) Pump-up Smash 08/27/2012

Posted by raznprince in Ask a Professor, Pokemon TCG, TCG Strategy.
Tags: , , ,

[F][F][C] Pump-up Smash – 90 damage
Attach 2 basic Energy cards from your hand to your Benched Pok
émon in any way you like.

If you were playing in a tournament and were running Terrakion EX in your deck and you use this attack:

  1. Does this attack work if you have one or no basic Energy cards in your hand?
  2. Does this attack work if you don’t have any Pokémon on your Bench?
  3. If you had up to two basic Energy cards in your hand, could you choose not to attach them since your opponent doesn’t really know what cards are in your hand?
  4. Are you supposed to show your opponent your hand to verify if there are any Energy cards in your hand or not?

These are some questions that don’t immediately come to your mind unless you are thinking about how it will affect your performance in a tournament. However as of recently, this has become one of the most hotly-debated issues regarding tournament rulings and play since the release of Black and White: Dragons Exalted (DRX). After extensive discussion and consultation of rulings made from Japan, the TPCi rulings officials have finally declared a ruling that will be regarded and enforced at all tournaments…and just in time for the upcoming Fall Battle Roads events! In order to understand this final ruling, I will answer the individual questions I addressed earlier respectively.

  1. It has been long agreed that for all attacks that you do as much as you can unless the attack specifies otherwise. In this case, yes…if you have only one basic Energy card in your hand, you attach whatever basic Energy you do have in your hand to your Benched Pokémon.  No matter how much energy you attached to your Benched Pokémon (zero, one, or two) the attack will do 90 damage.
  2. Yes. Per the “do as much as you can” rule, the attack will do 90 damage.
  3. Based on recent rulings updates presented on August 30, 2012, the hand is considered a “Private Zone,” therefore attaching energy is optional. Whether or not your opponent has seen your hand with basic Energy in it due to some card or attack effect on his/her last turn does not matter; you don’t have to attach the energy if you don’t want to. This ruling removes the potential for severe penalties to be issued at tournaments due to suspected cheating or slowing of tournament progress from constant hand verifications if attaching Energy was mandatory.
  4. You do not show your hand to your opponent when using this attack; the attack does not tell you to do it. Therefore, unnecessary hand reveals are not an acceptable game practice by any means.

Quick Recap: Pump-up Smash will do 90 damage, and if you have basic Energy and any Benched Pokémon to attach them to, you may attach it. Don’t show your hand to your opponent when attacking, and just attach the basic Energy if you have any and want to attach them.

I understand that some cards can sometimes be difficult to understand and work with, and my intention with this report is not to scare you away from playing Terrakion EXs in your decks. However, this ruling is important to understand if you are going to play it in a tournament as you will be expected to know how the tournament staff and judges will rule on it if there are any problems that come up from it during a tournament.

As usual, please let me know if you have any questions regarding this topic!

Professor Raz

Professor Knowledge Difficulty: Advanced



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: